Film Review 8: Love Actually

I intended to review on “Autumn in New York”. I watched half of it then I realised it was a VCD, not DVD and I couldn’t find disc B. So I picked another movie and that’s when life’s little interruption brought me to this movie. I’ve always wanted to watch it but never got around to do so. Today I finally did it. I know most of you would have seen this, please bear with me.

You better be warned of my love-hate relationship with British romantic movie. This might get personal.

The opening monologue by Hugh Grant blew me right at the start. “Whenever I get gloomy with the state of the world, I think about the arrivals gate at Heathrow Airport. General opinion’s starting to make out that we live in a world of hatred and greed, but I don’t see that. It seems to me that love is everywhere. Often, it’s not particularly dignified or newsworthy, but it’s always there – fathers and sons, mothers and daughters, husbands and wives, boyfriends, girlfriends, old friends. When the planes hit the Twin Towers, as far as I know, none of the phone calls from the people on board were messages of hate or revenge – they were all messages of love. If you look for it, I’ve got a sneaking suspicion… love actually is all around.”

Richard Curtis always writes a love story that is so sweet but bloody impossible to happen, e.g. Bridget Jones Diary, Four Weddings and a Funeral, Notting Hill, etc and audiences, mostly females, swoon at the fictional characters he created. Thus leading, or misleading, us to believe in the possibility of true love, love at first sight or love conquers all. He makes falling in love look so easy. Maybe I’m being too skeptical though. On the other hand, despite of my criticism, I couldn’t help but to foolishly let myself indulge in his movies. I think Love Actually is his best work thus far. It involves 9 interconnected stories, heaps of actors, many subplots, broad ranges of people weave together in a single theme: LOVE.  Boy, this movie is a pleasant mess. Wouldn’t you want to get into that kind of mess?

There is a scene which rendered me a bucket of tears. It’s when Mark shows up at Juliet’s (Keira Knightley)door holding cardboard signs with his feelings written on them. Aww….  I cried so much, i thought my swollen eye was going to pop.

Just like how people sometimes fall for the wrong person, I couldn’t resist a classic British fairytale (read: non existence) love story. It’d be lovely to watch this again on Christmas, although I’ll probably try to avoid watching alone because it’ll only make me feel lonely. Whatever, I’m just gonna make a Christmas wish now.

All I want for Christmas is to _____ with_____.
I leave it to your imagination.

I found the followings on www.loveatually.com ,the official website. Each of them represents a love story in the film. I thought the words are so enticing and true.
“Love rocks on. Love is elementary. Love american style. Love unspoken. Love at work. Love as a second language. Love lasts a lifetime. Love is awkward. Love and politics.”

That’s all from me. Have a love day. =)

Mel says: 8.5/10 (I’m a sucker for classic romance , i know)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

