Film Review 22: Rachel Getting Married

I’ve heard the hype about this movie. Strangely most of my friends didn’t really like this movie, I thought I’d give it a try, then I realised the reason.

Rachel is getting married but she’s not the centre of attention here, Kym is. Kym (Anne Hathaway) is a recovering drug addict who returns home from rehab for her sister’s (Rosemarie DeWitt) wedding. While her daddy (Bill Irwin) showers her with all the love, Rachel isn’t too excited about her comeback. As Kym struggles to fit in the new environment, we discover more about her past and her messed up family.

I don’t care what the film experts say about this movie. Honestly, I dislike it. I agree the movie has an authentic characteristic but it doesn’t do a thing. Usually I would give credit for good story but this is one of the few exceptions. I think the story is butchered by the film technique. The camera was so shaky, it’s as if there was chronic earthquake or something. I was sea-sick and felt like vomitting after watching it. I’ve seen many documentary style films and this is probably the worst. I watched this with a friend and we were laughing so hard at a particular scene, let me try to put it in words; It was a low angle shot and the camera man starts following the actress, which means he’s either squat walking or he’s a dwarf (If you get what i mean). Ridiculously hilarious!

I’m not an expert so whether if you call this an artistic movie or whatever, I can’t really tell. All I know is that I’m glad I watched it on DVD so I can fast forward most of it, especially during the seemingly never-ending wedding. In addition, the music was disastrous. This movie is a total mess.
On the bright side, good story and good acting. If only it could salvage some points.

Mel says: 4/10

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

