Slap yourself to keep awake!

“I don’t have a good temper or calm nature but I choose to live that way everyday. The person you are is the person you choose to be.” -Imelda S.Lie (that’s me!)

Sometimes I’m amazed at myself. Not trying to brag here* but I’ve come a long way from where I was to where I am. At the age of 9, I moved abroad to study and it was my own choice (yes, i was young and didn’t know what being away from parents meant). After I finished secondary school, I moved again to New Zealand, a country I had never heard of until Lord of The Rings. Mind you, I didn’t move to Auckland or Wellington, I relocated to Invercargill. I wouldn’t be surprised if you’ve not heard of it.

Green dot at the corner; that's Invercargill

After completing my film study in NZ, I returned to the country I grew up in. Prior to that, I flew over to S.Korea to learn the language. As I think back, I’m pretty impressed at myself for going to Korea with the limited language skill I had. I even managed to take a bus from the airport to the university all by myself! After all the experiences, I took a step back and came back to the country I grew up in to complete my business study (I’m graduating this year!). It takes courage to step back in life. Not for long though. I sense an upcoming adventure! :)

Okay why am I writing my autobiography here?

I guess what I was trying to say is that I wasn’t who I am. In the past, I find it hard to control my anger. When I was young I cried every time my parents fought, and as I grew older I threw tantrum and banged stuff instead. However, as I go through life one step at the time, I began to see things clearer and the experiences of being away from the world I knew turned me into someone I’m more pleased with. I may not be the kindest person around or the most upright person and I still make mistakes but at least I know I’m growing everyday. I know I can be annoyingly “act righteous” or stubborn with my perspectives or whatever. I try to be nice to everyone I meet but I know everyday there must be people whom I failed to please, so what? Life is not perfect and you can’t please everyone. Just know who you are, be yourself, smile more, care more or care less, do it your style and be happy with what you have. Don’t let anyone get you down, unless it’s someone you really care about because then it’s impossible to not be let down at times. We are all humans. Just pick yourself up again!

You know sometimes I think I can be such a cliché with my statements, thoughts, etc. It’s like I’m fighting for the justice and equality. Most people write blogs to vent their anger, I write to inspire others. I quote myself for Pete’s sake! Yes, I’ve just used the idiom Pete’s sake. If it wasn’t for my height, I would have probably sign up for a beauty pageant or live in a castle and sing to the birds.

I should have lived here


P.S: Do you know who else lives in Princess Castle?? Lily from Modern Family! I’m so hooked to that TV series right now.

* Pardon moi, I tend to say this sentence a lot from time to time. No, I’m not a snob. okay. maybe un peu.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Slap yourself to keep awake!

  1. Ginny

    One person is inspired here :)

  2. nez

    me too! this post is inspiring, and i get to know your past better too :) *hugs

Leave a Reply

