Film Review 64: The Hunger Games

I just came back from a movie with friends. Previously, I didn’t intend to watch this film because I thought it would be like Percy Jackson or Journey To The Centre of The Earth, but I am glad that I watched it anyway!…. Wait, how long has it been since I last reviewed a film??? It’s been ages! Hello again everyone. :)

The Game Begins


The movie is based on a famous novel series and many predicted this movie to be the next Harry Potter or Twilight Saga. I’m neither a fan of those two but I will definitely join the queue for the sequel of The Hunger Games.

I missed the starting of the show so I didn’t quite know where the story is sets but basically this is what it’s about: Each year one boy and one girl from each district are chosen as “tributes” to compete in a game of survival called The Hunger Game. The tributes from 12 different districts will compete against each other to survive and only 1 person, who is the winner, will come out alive. When Katniss’ sister was chosen as the tribute, Katniss volunteered in her place. Along with Peeta (Josh Hutcherson), Katniss set off to the capital to compete in the game which the whole country would be watching.

Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mellark

I was most impressed by the characters. The female lead, Katniss Everdeen, comes from a poor background. She is camera-shy and lacking in outspokenness. However, she never fails to surprise audiences and capture attention with her quick wit and strong desire to survive. Even before the competition, we have seen her as a survivor in life with her taking care of her sister and mother after the death of her father. We knew right away that she is a survivor and one to watch for. Peeta, on the other hand, is unlike most male leads. He is gentle and kind, has unique way of surviving but often depends on Katniss for survival. He could be seen as meek to some but he protects and love sincerely. It is refreshing to see a reversal of role between male and female characters in a movie.

Unfortunately, The Hunger Game might not be quite as big as Twilight or Harry Potter as I wish it to be. I’m sure it will still do well as a four-part series and will gather many faithful followers like myself. The problem is the plot that is too predictable and straight forward. Although the movie has a very strong message, it doesn’t keep people in suspense as to what will happen next. I hope in the next part, they will add a little more twists but not too much and include more scenes of Liam Hemsworth… Having said that, I really wish you will at least give this movie a shot because I see a potentially good series in this.

Mel says: 7/10

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

