Breakup Rules, Carrie Bradshaw and myself.

Yesterday, I found TV Series Sex and The City season 2 DVDs in the pile of my old DVDs collection. I played it on my notebook and yea, it so happened that I picked the episode where Carrie has just broken up with Mr Big. Shucks.

In the first episode of season 2, when Carrie stumbled upon an old photograph of her and Big, she created the 1st of her 5 own breakup rules, “Destroy all pictures where he looks sexy and you look happy.” Although the rules are proven not to work since we all know Carrie ends up with Big, I’ve got nothing to lose right now so I’m taking her advice. Photos deleted.

2nd rule was Lie. I did that a lot for the past 4 months since I broke up. If Charlotte was right that “it takes half the total amount of time you went out with someone to get over them”, I should have gotten over him about 2 weeks ago. I have to agree more with Carrie that to lie is a lot easier than admitting. Oh screw it, cards on table, I lied about having deleted the photos.

3rd: Until emotionally stabilized, enter no store. It is too late for it now, I bought more pairs of shoes than I’ve ever bought and my sisters have been wondering why I have so many new clothes.

4th: Never stop thinking about him even for a moment because that’s the moment he’ll appear. I have not stopped thinking of him but he has not appeared. I don’t think this is a good rule. You’ll just going to be missing the person sick because you wish that you’ll bump into him but the thought of bumping into him creates that emotional turmoil.

Girlfriends doing it for themselves.

Last rule and I believe the best, No matter who broke your heart or how long it takes to heal, you’ll never get through it without your friends. I really could skip all the previous rules and just get to this. I don’t know how long it’ll take to get myself back up but I’ve never felt more blessed to have friends who I can count on for whatever occasion I needed. I’m so thankful.

I broke up with the man for the same reason Carrie broke up with Big. It began when I asked if he loves me and he said a whole lot of things but didn’t answer it. I’ve seen the man walked out on me so many times, I couldn’t stand the thought that one day he could walk out and never come back. I was afraid of what Carrie was afraid of. Now I just need a little time and a reminder that I’m no Carrie Bradshaw and he’s no Mr Big.

The man who is the joy and the pain of her life.

Love,
Mel.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Breakup Rules, Carrie Bradshaw and myself.

  1. I love this! Sex and the City taught me so much, because my life was so much like Carrie’s! Of course besides the age and job! But I think the rules make sense. And your article gives it the complete work out! Good job!!

    • mel

      Hi Sylvia. Thanks! glad you like it. i think most women can relate to Carrie at some point in life which is why the show is so awesome! kinda like guide book for us. lol

Leave a Reply

