K-Drama: 신사의 품격/ A Gentleman’s Dignity.

I used to be a huge fan of Korean TV series when they first hit Asia in 2001 but now it’s been a while since I watched any of them. Initially TV series like Autumn’s Story, Stairways To Heaven and later on, Full House were refreshing to watch because they are different from other Asian dramas. Unfortunately, along the years the story plots of the new dramas remain the same and they become a drag to watch. Most Korean Dramas would involve the story of an orphan girl, complicated adopted siblings rivalry, someone with lost memory or critical disease or both, or an evil mother-in-law/step mother, etc. I rolled my eyes so much I couldn’t go on watching anymore K-drama.

The last K-Drama that I followed was On Air (2008) starring Lee Bum Soo, Kim Ha Neul, Song Yoon Ah and the late Park Yong Ha. I like it because the story isn’t like one of those common fairytale told in different setting which what most K-dramas is all about. After On Air, I can’t recall a single K-Drama that I look forward to or completed watching but I haven’t lost faith in them and after 4 years, looks like I found a new series that I’ll enjoy.

A Gentleman’s Dignity.


The series, currently airing, starred veteran actors/actress Jang Dong Gun, Kim Min Jong, Kim Soo Ra and Kim Ha Neul. It tells the story of men in their 40s who are sitting in a comfortable position in society but still looking for love like any other person. It’s like the usual love drama except that the characters are older, not more mature but undoubtedly more attractive. I don’t know why but perhaps it’s because older men tend to be calmer, or that I’m turning older as well. The story plot is less complicated than a typical Kdrama and it focusses more on the characters and the development of their relationship which is what I’ve been wanting to see. If it goes on like this, it will be the series that I am watching till its last episode.

The lead men in their 40s.


It’s been a while since Jang Dong Gun acted in a series and he definitely hasn’t lost his charm, in fact he is way cuter now. Kim Ha Neul has always been one of my favorite actresses. I certainly hope A Gentleman’s Dignity won’t have the typical crazy twist in the middle like someone is down with fatal illness or gets into an accident or someone’s mother comes into the scene or whatever crap that can spoil it because I’m certainly enjoying the show right now. So fingers crossed! Looking forward to watch another episode tomorrow. :)

Night,
Mel.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “K-Drama: 신사의 품격/ A Gentleman’s Dignity.

  1. widyaliem

    call me when u watch it again!!

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

