To Die or To Kill (Real Life Mystery Part 3)

If you were put in a situation between your own death or having to kill someone, which would you choose? I was just thinking about humankind. Are we naturally selfish and thus have to constantly make the conscious decision to be selfless? or are we selfless but learn to be selfish for our own survival? If the latter is the case, then aren’t we living in a dog eat dog world? I guess I shouldn’t even be asking, having proverb like “dog eat dog” shows what kind of society we lived in.

This question came into mind while I was reading quote from Sex and The City,

Samantha: Well, let’s just say it: you won.
Carrie: Was there a contest?
Samantha: Oh please! There’s always a contest with an ex. It’s called “who will die miserable.”

If you’re wondering where’s the connection between to kill and getting killed, here it is; With an ex, must it be if one person is happy the other person will be miserable because of the happiness? Possibly.
For a period I was convinced that I would be the one who gets miserable, but later I realised how silly that is. Why can’t it be both live happily ever after not together? I guess it all comes back to how much you wish it had worked out between you and your ex or how much you understand why it didn’t work out. Whether or not you will die miserable depends on yourself and the choice you make. If being selfish is a way of survival, I guess you should care less about “who will die miserable” and get on with your own happiness. I know for matter of fact that sometimes I care too much about whether people are happy or not and hence, the fear of being miserable. However if I am really like that then I will, ironically, be happily miserable. In which case, it cancels out the emotions?

I’m beginning to think that I am The Real Life Mystery.

Love,
Mel.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

