Film Review 69: Ruby Sparks

I’ve been watching slightly more movies recently because I’ve found a movie partner! Yay! Remember I said that this blog is like a wishing wall where whatever written here will come to past? It is still working, which makes me realise it’s kinda the same with the movie Ruby Sparks.

Calvin Weir-Fields is a successful writer who has his success at the age of 19 but encounters a long period of writer’s block until one day he falls asleep and dreams about a girl who becomes his inspiration for a new novel. As he writes about her, he finds himself falling in love with the fictional character he has written and one morning he finds her in his living room. Alive.

She’s real.

I love Ruby Sparks. If you’d known me, I’m rather irrational in my opinion about things I love. I try to be rational and objective but the truth is movie preference is often personal. This movie is kinda similar to me. The female lead, Ruby, appears out of nowhere and there is no explanation how it happens. This movie is definitely not rational but you don’t need it to be. We just accept that it’s a film and believe it to be possible in their world. Then again, if you think about it, isn’t life like that? I mean, the person that you love, don’t you sometimes feel that he/she is magically written into your life? We don’t need to rationalised love, same goes with movies like Ruby Sparks.

The directors, Jonathan Dayton (born July 7, 1957) and Valerie Faris, is the husband and wife team who directed Little Miss Sunshine. No wonder the film has the same sweet tone to it. Ruby Sparks is written by Zoe Kazan who plays Ruby, and I think she should be commended for her brilliant acting and writing. Paul Dano, who also acted in Little Miss Sunshine, is the perfect cast as Calvin because he looks the part. He is seemingly ordinary, highly curious, self-centered, yet kindness. If you love Little Miss Sunshine or a heartwarming film to enlighten the mood, this one is for you.

I would highly recommend the movie because I love it. Having said that, if you’re looking for a lot of actions, or laughter, this might not be it. Only watch this if you’re one who believe or wish to believe in the impossible or just looking to sit down and forget about reality.

Mel says 7.5/10

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

