Why I Won’t Be a Writer.

At least not for now.

It has always been my dream to become a writer but that dream seems to be going further away from me. At this moment, I think it’s suffice to say I will not become a writer anytime soon. Why?

1. I have nothing to write.
As sad as it is, I truly have no passion in anything that I do right now. I used to be an opinionated person but now I’m not even sure what of what I used to be so sure of. With no opinion or passion in something, it’s very difficult to want to write and share.

2. I have no idea how to begin.
This is a common problem faced by anyone with any dream; not knowing where to start. I don’t know anyone whose job is a professional writer and I have no idea on how to get in touch with publisher or if I’ll ever be good enough to be talent scouted or find myself an agent.

3. I am slowly sinking into the society hole.
As as student, it’s easy to have big dreams and imagine all the possibilities ahead but when reality kicks in after I took the first step into working world, I realise most of my ideas are unrealistic and it’s time to do some adjustments.

4. My future is uncertain.
This country is slowly closing its door on foreign talent like myself. But I know my future is save in God’s hands as it is written in Jeremiah 29:11 – For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Once in a while I just need to remind myself not to worry too much.

5. I am becoming lazy.
This is the worst and biggest contributor to why I won’t be a writer. I spend an indecent amount of time on Candy Crush, Facebook, looking at funny cat videos, etc when I could be writing. While the internet provides accessible platforms for anyone to write, it also opens the door to gazillion distractions.

Based on the above, I could very well kiss goodbye to my dream. I think I’m going through quarter life crisis where I find myself not doing what I wish to do, not knowing how to get out of the situation, or knowing how to get out but not doing it because I’ve grown too comfortable with my current state.

I need to shake things up. I need a change. And it shall start from me. Today.

change-quote

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Why I Won’t Be a Writer.

  1. My friend you are a writer! You just wrote this post :) May God inspire to write more!

Leave a Reply

