Lung Leavin’ Day

About a month ago, someone dropped by my blog and shared about Lung Leavin’ Day. I promised him that I will be writing about it the week after but here I am a few weeks late. Sorry Cameron for taking such a long time to get this posted.

What is Lung Leavin’ Day?

It’s a day to celebrate life! A few years back, Cameron’s wife, Heather, was diagnosed with Mesothelioma Cancer and had only 15 months to live. The only way to keep her alive is to have her lung removed, which she did. The day of her surgery, which is on 2nd February 2006, is when Lung Leavin’ Day first started. “Lung Leavin’ Day is about overcoming your fears. I get together with my family and firends, and we write our fears on plates and then smash them in a fire.” The participants of this event continues to grow each year. It’s a shame that I can’t be there physically with them, but on the bright side, everyone can join in this cause online via their website.

This is my fear and I'm smashing it!

This is my fear and I’m smashing it!

Why am I sharing this?

Simply because I believe in this cause. I admire Heather’s courage to open up about her story and go out to encourage others to face up to their fears and live life to the fullest. Heather chose to face her fear of removing her lung in order to live. She chooses life over fear and I believe that is the kind of choice we should make every day. Doesn’t matter what kind of fear you have, it may be that you are fearful of height or cockroaches, etc. Never let your fear stop you from living to the fullest.

So thank you Cameron for sharing the story with me and now I’m sharing it with whoever is reading this and I hope you too will join in this cause.

Best wishes everyone!

Cheers,
Mel.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

