How To Survive Mid 20s Crisis. (11)

Opening note: Now that the title change has served its purpose, I am reverting to the old title for continuity sake. But I’m still dropping the word “You”.

Chapter 11

Choose Maturity.

“Then as if on the appointed day, in a big flurry of hope and determination, somehow Mama Bird made those little balls of fluff and feathers believe that choosing to fly away was more appealing than choosing to stay in the only home they had ever know. She knew if they stayed, they would soon die. She insisted they choose maturity. It was the only way they would survive.”

Big Girls Don’t Whine by Jan Silvious

I am fortunate enough to be born into a family that is not lacking. I don’t have to worry about if there’ll be food or enough for my education. I am blessed to have the family support to travel and, being the youngest child in the family, I often get away with more things than my elder siblings. Being brought up in a well-protected surrounding has its perks and disadvantages. It took me 25 years to figure out that I need to step away from the comfort zone, and it doesn’t mean going to unfamiliar territories because I actually enjoyed venturing into the unknown and hence it is a comfort zone to me. What I mean is that I need to learn how to survive on my own in this World. If I was stranded on a no-man-island I’m pretty sure I will find a way to survive with whatever resources I have. However in the real life setting with many people jousting for the same resources, I’m not sure if I could survive. I need to learn how to stop being a little girl who hides under my safety zone every time trouble comes. I need to be the big girl who stares at crisis and fight it with my own strength.

Being a little girl is easy but it’s not the way to overcome a crisis. I am teaching myself to become someone who is unafraid and unshakeable. Mid 20s Crisis is the best time to grow and become the person we shall be.

To be continued.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

