Chapter 18: Consistency and Figuring Out.

How To Survive Mid 20s Crisis.

Chapter 18.

Finally, a continuation of the mid 20s crisis series after weeks of absence. Sorry about that, I was away and back and then got busy with other stuffs; all the same excuses. Ok, I backslid from blogging because I stopped being discipline.

I’ve always believe that if you pick up a new skill today and keep practicing consistently for the next 10 years, at the end of 10 years you’ll be a subject expert or at least become pretty good at it. Never underestimate the value of consistency.

On a side note, knowing the value of something is nothing if you’re not doing anything about it. That’s exactly my crime. I’m like a fountain of knowledge but it doesn’t mean anything because most of the time I am comfortable keeping silence and not applying what I know. If you’ve read the bible on the parable of the talents, you’d know that having talent means nothing if you’re not producing something with it. Even whatever little talent that you have will be taken away from you if you don’t use it.

I guess I’m still trying to figure things out, trying to find out what is it that I’m good at and want to pursue. I’ve come across people who told me I’m still young and have good plenty of years to figure out what I want to do. But obviously I don’t want it to take forever, the sooner I figure it out the better it will be. Then again, there’s no point forcing something to show up because in most cases, the more you force things to happen, the less likely it will happen. You just gotta keep doing your best and wait for the right time for it to show up.

So the key is to be consistent. If you keep going to the mall where Paris Hilton goes, one fine day you’ll surely bump into her. I don’t know where I get that from but the thought of mall reminds me of Paris Hilton. Who knows what would happen to me if I keep writing consistently for the next 10 years, I might be a writer ey?

It doesn’t hurt to try, and keeping yourself busy is better than not doing anything. Whatever it is that you think you’re good at or you wish to be good at, just try it and keep doing the same thing for the next 10 years and you’ll see.* :)

Cheers!

*Disclaimer: If you’re still bad at it after 10 years of persevering, it might be a good idea to pick up another hobby.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

