Welcome to Digital Age. Finally!

Hello!

If you haven’t known, I’ve been sucked into the digital world. Alright, I willingly walked into it and being the tech-unsavvy person that I am-soon-to-be-was, I’ve been doing my best reading up on all things digital. Surprisingly, or maybe not, I enjoy reading digital advertising or tech related news so much that I sensed myself transforming into a tech geek. 

Our world has changed so much since the introduction of internet. Everything is shifting to the digital arena. The traditional advertising industry, which is where I came from, is taking the punch from this movement. Although I am a traditional girl at heart, it is inevitable for me to pick up digital knowledge to stay afloat in the industry.

If you’re like me, pretty much clueless about what’s cool in the tech world, fret not (although I don’t think you’re fretting because let’s face it, we don’t really care unless it affects us). I’d like to share a bit of my findings that will keep you enough to stay relevant but not too much that I start sounding gibberish.*

3 Cool Finds on Kickstarter.

Firstly, what is Kickstarter? It’s a website that allows people to pitch their ideas to the crowd and ask for fundings. The crowd, us common folks, can choose how much to fund and in return we receive some goodies from the creator (the more you give the more you get). The project has to achieve the targeted amount of money before it can proceed, which means they won’t charged you a single cent until they have enough funding and the project is confirmed. Awesome ey?

Enough introduction. Now, here’s my top 3 finds on Kickstarter:

1. Mighty Mug – The Mug That Won’t Fall (say what??) 3c6fb6f2eec7ca458cd8615da86861b6_large-1

This is absolutely genius and a lifesaver for klutz like me. I’ve spilled water on my laptop a few times before and this is no doubt one of the best and most considerate invention I’ve ever seen around.

2. Memobottle – A4, A5 & Letter Reusable Water Bottles0e128807408ada4a490daf547628b7ab_large

Isn’t this a beauty? The idea is so simple and so aesthetically pleasing to the eye. It’s easy to slot into thin bags, and it comes in 3 sizes; letter, A4 and A5. The only reason why I have not backed this project is because I’m wondering how I’m gonna wash the bottle. But it’s so alluring…

3. Jaha: The Most Affordable Fitness Band That Motivates You b2e7d7fe4c8c963e8a248c578fd9a301_large

It might not be the most fantastic product you can find on Kickstarter but nonetheless it’s a good price! My friend forwarded this page to me because she knew I was looking for a sports band and voila! it is way cheaper than all the bands that I’m looking at in stores. I hope the actual product would be better than the prototype design on its video though. Then again, for the price I shan’t be too fussy about it.

Aren’t you excited about this website?? You could pretty much searched for anything or even if you’re just looking to be inspired, Kickstarter has all sorts of items to keep me amused. There are many creative ideas. Some projects are outright ridiculous that it works.

I might be a late bloomer with Kickstarter, but it’s never too late to join in the crowd!

Cheers, Mel.

*One way to find out if you’re tech-savvy or not is by googling “what is jQuery” and if you understand what Google says, congrats! — The answer looks to me as if they are typed in elvish, and I think I have better chance understand elvish.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

