[#SpiritualSunday] A Lesson in a Season

Why did I choose Sunday to be #SpiritualSunday?

Yes, Sunday is the day where Christians go to church and Spiritual Sunday makes a nice alliteration, but more than that I think it’s important to take time at the end of the week to reflect on what we’ve done for that week.

I am at the point in life where Monday is a struggle. Even right now knowing Monday is just one night away, I wish I could sleep right through the weekdays. I’m not enjoying my life and this has been affecting my walk with God.

Few days ago, I read a devotion from Our Daily Bread that quoted C.S Lewis;

“Imagine a set of people all living in the same building. Half of them think it is a hotel, the other half think it is a prison. Those who think it a hotel might regard it as quite intolerable, and those who thought it was a prison might decide that it was really surprisingly comfortable. If you think of this world as a place intended simply for our happiness, you find it quite intolerable; think of it as a place of training and correction and it’s not so bad.”

Growing up I’ve had it pretty good. My parents, the baby boomers, work long hours for survival so the next generation can have better lives and they accomplished that. I am financially supported, got to travel with friends, study abroad, experience different cultures, etc. I got my first job pretty easily and the colleagues were superb. Basically life had been a bed of roses and I was led to believe, as C.S Lewis stated, that this World might be intended for my happiness.

I think right now God is teaching me to go after things that I’m seeking instead of waiting for them to be handed to me. I’m not used to being unguided and unsupported, but to move on to greater heights I need to learn to take charge. This is the kind of struggles/challenges I need to face to prepare me for His purpose. It is definitely not an easy period for me but I believe He is in control and I am in good hands.

When faced with struggles and tribulations, we sometimes become like Jesus’ disciple who worries and asks, “Teacher, don’t you care if we drown?” (Matthew 4:38) We need to learn trust that God has a bigger plan for our lives. Every season in life is meant for a purpose and we need to rely more on God than our own strength. For me that means setting aside time to hear His words, study the Word, just spending time with God and to obey Him. I know when I’m ready, He’ll reveal the next step to the destination He has for me.

Amen.

Cheers,
Mel.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

