[#traveltuesday] Halo Hanoi!

I’ve always wanted to visit Vietnam because it is near and it sounded exotic. When my Vietnamese friend invited me over for her wedding celebration earlier this year in February, I made a trip to Hanoi and fell in love with the city!

These are the things I love about the city:

1. Food and Drinks!
Of course, as a true foodie you can’t go to any country without trying their local dishes. To be honest, most of the time I have no idea what I put into my mouth but I make it a point to not question and eat like a local when in foreign land. That principle pays off every time.

L-R: Pho, Spring Roll, Larue Beer, Egg Coffee, Street Doughnut, Sugar Cane, Pig's Ears, Bun Cha, Tea.

L-R: Pho, Spring Roll, Larue Beer, Egg Coffee, Street Doughnut, Sugar Cane, Pig’s Ears, Bun Cha, Tea.

3. The Scenery.
As a visitor to Hanoi, it is quite inevitable to miss out on the Halong Bay cruise. It’s almost mandatory to go there or your trip will be disregarded. I went on a cold and rainy day and the view was unfortunately covered in fogs but you can still see its beauty.

Someone pops in to say hi!

Someone pops in to say hi!

4. The weather.
I feel like such a noob when I landed in Hanoi. I knew it was going to be chilly as warned by my friend, but I thought by default Southeast Asian country’s weather is hot so I arrived in my t-shirt and jeans. I was shivering not long after and finally bought a North Face jacket there. It was nice to have a cooling weather in South East Asia!

The jacket makes me look like a tourist.

The jacket makes me look like a tourist.

5. The people
As cliché as it is, the people are certainly the biggest pull factor. My friend was such a nice host and I made new friends there. They are polite, hospitable and one of the most genuine people I’ve met.

My friend and I at her wedding.

My friend and I at her wedding.

I would definitely come back to visit them!

P.S: Stay tuned for more details on where to go in Hanoi.

Cheers,
Mel.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

