Psalm 23

I had cell group today and it could be my last cell group session. Not that I am leaving church, but my cell group is transitioning into a family zone and I, the unmarried one, decided not to transition with them. So now I have to look for or be assigned to another cell with similar demographic as myself; unmarried, confused and enjoying the freedom, denying that we are thinking of getting married soon or maybe unsure of it. Like I said, confused souls. Nah, I’m just messing around. I’ll be in a cell where I will be rooted and grow together through the life journey. :)

Anyway, we were reading Psalm 23 in cell. I know it’s a common verse and we, Christians, have heard the verse many times. I bet you can even recite part of it after seeing the first line “The Lord is my shepherd….”.

When I read this verse I would usually think of how God is a good shepherd and that in Him I can find rest, but today I was drawn to David. This Psalm of David shows the kind of relationship David has with God. He began the verse by saying “The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing” and verse 4 said “Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil for you are with me.” David said he lack nothing although he might be facing the darkest valley of His life.

If David was the average human on planet, the verse would go like this:

If the Lord is my shepherd, why am I lacking in so many things?
He makes me lie down in green pasture, he refreshes my soul. He guides me along the right paths for his name’s sake. On weekends.
Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff I hope they’ll get rid of my problems so that I can be comforted.
Please prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows with sweet revenge.
Surely your goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life (BEST PART!), and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever as long as the blessings keep coming.

-Psalm1’s nonsense.

As human going through life, climbing one mountain at a time, it’s so easy to complain and blame God when things don’t go right. I think many people, myself included at times, see God as wish-granting genie that we go to when we have a request. Today my eyes are opened to the kind of relationship that I want to have with God. David isn’t perfect in his walk with God, but one thing that is consistent throughout His journey is that He is a man after God’s heart.

My spiritual KPI this year is to be able to say like David, “I lack nothing” because I am contented in the Lord and even through the darkest day, I will not be fearful because I learn to trust in Him. Lastly, I want to dwell in God’s house forever and be thankful for His goodness and His love doesn’t matter what comes my way. Rejoice!

I have just set myself an idealistic KPI that probably will take a lifetime of polishing to achieve. Nonetheless, achievable. The first step I’ll take? To be intentional in setting aside time to build that relationship with God. It’ll be tough but it’s even the most stubborn heart needs will be humbled before Jesus.

Background Image by Paul Taylor (flickr).

Background Image by Paul Taylor (flickr).

Cheers,
Mel.

Leave a comment

Filed under Spiritual Journey

Leave a Reply

