Why do Christians like to invite people to church?

“Does Christian have a quota for the number of people they bring to church each week?” someone asked me today, and when I asked the reason for the question he said “because I have a friend who is a recent convert and she keeps asking me and my friends to church that it annoys us.”

To answer the question; No, we don’t have a quota. At least my church doesn’t and thankfully I’ve not heard of any church imposing such rule. But this certainly isn’t the first time I’m getting such a question.

In Christianity, there are two things of importance; The great commission and great commandments.*

The great commission is to “go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you.” (Matthew 28:19). The commission mandates us to share the gospel so more people will come to know Christ. 

But we also have another 2 great commandments; first to love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind. This is the greatest and most important commandment. The second is exactly like it: ‘You must love your neighbor as yourself.” (Matthew 22:37-39).

These 2 commandments are the reasons why we’re sharing the Word to you. 

If you know me personally, I think it’s easy to tell that I’m a christian because I pray before meal, I go to church, attend care group, etc. But apart from the rituals, you hardly find me taking the initiative to introduce Jesus to a non-Christian and why? Because I’m shy, and/or don’t feel the need to share, let someone else do the job, and most of the time I don’t care about them enough to want to share the word. Yep.

When you have something good, you will want to share it. If you know of a good bargain, you’d inform your friends (unless you’re one of those people – the non-sharer). This is why Facebook share button is such a hit because people like to share. Knowing Jesus is a good thing and the natural thing for me to do is to share it with people I love. Unfortunately I don’t love a lot of people… So… if I’m sharing about Jesus to you chances are I like you very much. I might drop subtle hints about Christianity instead of outright evangelizing, that also means I care.

As cheesy as it sounds, Christianity is a lot about love. If you know of a Christian who is very judgmental and unloving that is because he/she hasn’t completely understood the 2 commandments. I don’t blame them, it’s not easy to love God wholeheartedly and to love your neighbour as yourself. The latter is tricky because you need to first love yourself in order to love others. If a Christian judges you, I’m sorry… I do hope to tell you not all christians are like that but then you might have heard someone told you that too.

In any case, yes we can be a bit annoying when it comes to evangelising and relentlessly inviting you to church. But that’s because we care. As a dormant Christian, I thank Christians who tirelessly share the gospel despite rejections. I too hope one day to love others enough to step out of the comfort zone.

With love,

Mel.

Disclaimer: When I say “we” I was referring to me, myself and I. It might not be a representation of you. If you are a Christian and feel misrepresented, my apology for the confusion and rest assured I meant no harm. 

This explains my affection for cats.

This explains my affection for cats.

*there are 2 commandments so technically there are 3 things of importance.

2 Comments

Filed under Spiritual Journey

2 responses to “Why do Christians like to invite people to church?

  1. joeythebuddhist

    If you like cats you must like the worst people….. Lol jk!!!!

Leave a Reply

