2016 New Year Resolution

Of course I have to start my first post of the year with my resolution!

Truthfully, I haven’t given much thought on making resolutions this year. I’m at the que-sera-sera stage of life and I am not the best at keeping track of my resolution. Most of the things I aspire to accomplish at the start of the year are covered in dust by year end. Then when I reflect on what I set out to accomplish, I’ll feel a tinge of regret for not doing them, which is why I didn’t feel like making a list now. However, last weekend I was traveling and from 35,000 feet above ground I felt the urge to write one. I guess when you’re up in the air, you are a little more ready to take flight and plunge into New-Year-New-Me state. Despite my initial lack of faith, here’s what I wrote from above ground:

1. Travel to a new place I’ve never been to.
This is a Permanent Resolution that I look forward to every year!

2. Spend Time Alone With God everyday no matter how busy.
It’s 13 days into the year and so far I’m on track.

3. Good health – reduce consumptions of carbonated drinks and fast food drastically.
I was diagnosed with something that requires surgery late last year. No, I’m not dying and it’s not cancerous, but it puts thing into perspective for me like how I’ve not been taking good care of my body. This year it shall be my priority.

4. Read 1 book per month.
Currently reading “Night Circus”.

5. Watch 2 movies per month.
You’ll find me binge watching on movies this weekend.

6. Blog 2 posts per week.
This is a little too ambitious. I’ll start off with once every 2 weeks and by end of the year you’ll be seeing 2 blog posts per week! *fingers crossed*

7. Make time for loved ones & plan my days properly
Thanks to iPhone Calendar, I’ve not overbooked myself for the past 3 months! Am very proud of that. I want to keep that up plus booking my time to stay in touch with loved ones.

There you go! I think this year’s resolutions are more realistic… a sign of greater wisdom, and aging. Let’s see how they go.

Cheers,
Mel.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life Series, Spiritual Journey

Leave a Reply

