Destruction at Your Fingertips

This morning I left house with 67% phone battery. I estimated that I would be out for about 7 hours and if I keep my phone usage to minimum it would last till I’m back. It did last, but not without pain. I was fine not using my phone most of the time because I was occupied with Sunday church service, lunch with friends, and meeting few people after that. But I started to panic when I had to make my way back home with 5% of battery left.

I live in the suburb and it takes about an hour to get home from anywhere. I’ve picked up the habit of keeping myself entertained by reading ebook, scrolling through social media, browsing the news with my phone throughout my train ride. Basically I have to feed my mind with something.

The thought of having no phone for the 1-hour ride home made me uneasy, so I scrambled to look for a magazine that should keep me occupied for the ride. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find the magazine I wanted to get and I didn’t want to waste money buying other magazine that I wasn’t interested in so I thought Alright, I’m gonna brace through the ride with no entertainment. How hard can it be?

The moment I stepped into the train I was bored. I stood awkwardly in the middle of the crowd not knowing what to do or where to look. Then I realized that I have a serious addiction to outside noises. I was so accustomed to being fed and entertained with what the world offers that I haven’t spent the time to just be with myself and my inner thoughts. I started thinking deeper and that 1 hour journey of self-reflection became the best part of my day.

Constantly having to be entertained is a serious addiction. We live in the World that tries to get our attention 24/7 and it’s easy to fall into its trap. I think that’s how people started become lethargic.

Image from: psychologytoday.com

Image from: psychologytoday.com

My conclusion after today’s train ride is that it’s time for me to pick up a new habit; to shut down outside noises during my train ride so that I can hear my inner thoughts. Hopefully, that will help me reset my brain appetite. Tomorrow is Monday which means I’ll be taking the train ride to work again (boo!). I’ll start off the week with the brain detox. Pretty sure it’s not gonna be easy but it has to start before I fall deeper into the addiction.

Wish me luck.

x,
Mel.

Well, at least I'm not like them. Image from: Christian Post.

A common sight. Image from: Christian Post.

1 Comment

Filed under Life Series

One response to “Destruction at Your Fingertips

  1. I so relate to this post. Since I started writing my blog in the middle of last year I have become somewhat fixated on social media and am always checking my email inbox for updates. Before that I had no interest in social media was not on Twitter and hardly ever posted on Facebook. Since I started online dating this has become even worse and I can now barely stay off my phone to speak to a friend on the phone or listen during a recovery meeting. I was at AA the other day (I’m a recovering drug addict and alcoholic as well as from loads of other addictions) and I forced myself not to check my inbox for an hour. Damn it was hard! I really need to do what you are doing and take some time out during the day. Like you on the train It will be a form of meditation.

Leave a Reply

